10
Sep
08

Burying Beetle Eating a Mouse – September 10, 2008

As I’m walking home I spot the carcass of a mouse. It is moving slightly. I take a closer look and I spy two beetles(hairy burying beetles I presume) digging underneath the mouse. I realize that this is the same insect that I had observed on July 17, 2008. Golden Nature Guide (p112)states that there have been reports that some of the larger of these beetles …”dig under the carcass o f a small animal till it falls into the hole and is actually buried to serve as food for the larvae…” Very interesting.

Carrion Beetle - September 10 2008

1 Response to “Burying Beetle Eating a Mouse – September 10, 2008”


  1. 1 Aaron Sherman
    October 7, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    Cool photo, the beetle itself looks awesome.


Leave a Reply

