24
Jul
08

Moth with Orange Eye Shine – July 24 2008

I see this moth on my bedroom window and I want to get a picture of the orange eyeshine of this creature. It’s not a very good picture but it’s the best I could get. I believe that the reason that the eyes glow is that they have a tapetum lucidum (reflective mirror at the back of the eye) to increase their ability to see in low light situations.

1 Response to “Moth with Orange Eye Shine – July 24 2008”


  1. 1 Ian
    November 3, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    I am sitting here at my desk upstairs at this time, looking into the eyes of what looks like the same exact moth as the one you’ve taken a picture of here. This is interesting about the eyes. I wonder if it is good luck?


Leave a Reply

