11
Jul
08

Wood Nymph Moth(bird poop moth) on Mayapple – July 11, 2008

At first glance I look at this mayapple and think that there’s bird poop on it. But then I take a closer look and see that it’s a moth.

IMG_0049

6 Responses to “Wood Nymph Moth(bird poop moth) on Mayapple – July 11, 2008”


  1. 1 Fernando
    July 28, 2008 at 2:04 am

    Hi
    I saw one on my car rear window and thought I got bird Poop on it, upon taking a closer look it had fur,so I blew on it and it moved. I said to myslef poop doesnt move ……LOL. Doing some resaerch online I dicovered what it is, it’s gorgeous

  2. 2 Leigh
    June 12, 2009 at 10:54 pm

    I had the same experience today when I was visiting family in Texas. I saw what I thought was bird poop on my car driver’s side window. I took my car key to flick it off and when I did the “poop” flew away. I was quite startled and I had a good laugh.

    • 3 Tim & Judy Heath
      January 9, 2010 at 12:42 am

      I first saw this insect or moth when I lived in Florida and it was on the leaf of our small orange tree. I went to flick it off (don’t ask me why I would want to do that) and then realized that it was alive. thanks for sharing this information.

  3. 4 Chris
    June 23, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    Seeing “bird poop” on my clean wooden bench on my porch, I asked my husband to please pick it up with a tissue. He went to grab it and it moved and we discovered it was a moth. Absolutely intriquing! It must be it’s camouflage so birds won’t eat it. We live in Ontario.

    • 5 Al
      July 2, 2011 at 4:23 pm

      We live in Ontario as well. (Sarnia) Today we went to a local restaurant for breakfast and I noticed what looked like bird poop on the restaurant window. Then it moved. It was one of the most beautiful insects I have ever seen. (i know – it doesn’t make sense) I came home and looked online for what it was. Now I know.

  4. 6 Marianne
    July 16, 2012 at 2:40 am

    We found this moth on the outside screen of our kitchen window. At first we thought it was “bird poop”, but, then a “Daddy Long Legs” startled it and the moth flew off. We took some pictures and researched it on the internet finding this article! We have never seen a moth like this one before, so it was definitely of great interest! Thanks for the information! We are from Northern New Jersey.


Leave a Reply

