25
Aug
07

Insect larva in a mud home with 2 caterpillars for food – August 25, 2007

Insects in a mud home with 2 caterpillars, originally uploaded by Camp Naturalist.

I find these “gems” in a 1/2 inch wide mud “home” that is attached to a tent that is left outside to dry. The caterpillars are still alive but can’t move very well. I assume that they are stund by a wasp like creature to be food for the small green larva (in the center of the picture). The mud structure looks like a vase. It’s pretty amazing! The small black piles are probably fras(insect waste) from the caterpillars. When I broke this “vase” open I had no idea that I would find this!

Here what the opening of the mud structure looks like.  The bottom and right side are broken from me removing the structure from the tent.  It reminds me of potter shards that would be found at an archaeological dig. 
Mud

15 Responses to “Insect larva in a mud home with 2 caterpillars for food – August 25, 2007”


  1. 1 James
    October 15, 2007 at 6:41 pm

    I found a similar “cocoon” in my Columbus, Ohio patio umbrella. Tried to move the cocoon so it wouldn’t go into winter storage. Thought the cocoon would be silky. Was surprised when the peanut-shaped clay structure fell to the brick patio and busted like a miniature clay pot. Out popped two larvae that looked like Japanese beetle pupae, but smaller.

  2. 2 Momo
    April 25, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    Do you what exact insect does that?

  3. 3 Baba
    August 30, 2008 at 8:45 am

    It looks like a job by a potter wasp – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Potter_wasp

  4. 4 My
    March 28, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    Thanks for the info. I just found a cocoon in my backyard as well and was surprised to find three freaky looking caterpillars that I had never seen before. I felt the urge to investigate further. They looked just like your picture. Potter wasps, eh.

  5. April 29, 2013 at 1:26 pm

    I simply reached this amazing web-webpage a few
    weeks ago. I was really taken with the bit of
    sources you’ve got right the following. Large thumbs upwards for making such fantastic blog site page!

  6. May 4, 2013 at 4:56 pm

    At this time it appears like Expression Engine is the preferred blogging platform available right now.
    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

  7. May 26, 2013 at 12:30 pm

    No longer does a music lover need to bother about traveling
    out of range when a fantastic song comes on over the vehicle radio.
    Much of your best players marketplaces in the united states
    are supervised. Perfect for long trips and for up to
    date information on road conditions ahead.

  8. July 17, 2013 at 11:06 am

    Break your 3 normal main meals into 5 smaller portion sizes – morning, snack,
    lunch, snack, dinner. In fact, I always suggest to those overweight vegetarians to keep to
    a max of 4 pounds a week so you won’t suffer loose skin post weight loss. The institution has persistently offered ideal programs and services for those struggling to achieve certain levels of body weight.

  9. July 19, 2013 at 11:32 pm

    I visited multiple websites except the audio
    quality for audio songs current at this web site is actually wonderful.

  10. July 27, 2013 at 10:41 pm

    a Bruce Lee workout includes stretching, bending, running, dipping, kicking, jumping,
    traditional muscle building exercises, weight lifting, rope
    skipping, medicine ball handling, etc. For many working to lose weight, one failure is
    enough to get them off the path to success. Do not
    be tempted to lose weight as quickly as you can, because a crash diet
    will have you eating less than a thousand calories a day
    slowing down your metabolism.

  11. August 4, 2013 at 9:10 pm

    Hi there, I found your blog by means of Google even as looking for a comparable matter, your website got here up, it appears good.
    I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, just became aware of your blog thru Google, and located that it is truly informative. I’m going to watch
    out for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you happen to proceed this in future. Many folks will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  12. August 21, 2014 at 4:44 pm

    I do consider all of the ideas you’ve offered in your post.
    They’re very convincing and can definitely work.
    Still, the posts are too quick for beginners. May just you please prolong them a
    bit from subsequent time? Thank you for the post.

  13. October 6, 2014 at 7:06 am

    Hi there, this weekend iss pleasant inn favo of me, as this moment i am reading ths great
    informative paragraph here at myy residence.


Leave a Reply

