24
Jan
07

Good birding day – Jan 24, 2007


IMG_9387

This is the area of the lake were we previously spotted the bald eagle.  It’s a cold, snowy day. 

Bald Eagle Sighting

At 9:30am I am looking out the dining hall window and I see a large bird flying back and forth low over lake Shavehead. It doesn’t look quite like a sandhill crane, or a blue heron but it is about that size. Our program director and I head to the lower flat to get a closer look and we realize when we see the white tail that it’s bald eagle. This is the first bald eagle that I’ve seen in the wild so it’s quite a thrill. Of course I don’t have my camera or binoculars, but what are you going to do? When we get to the lower flat we lose sight of the bird. Hopefully later today we’ll get another look or two.

I notice that most of the song birds are making warning calls(cardinals making short chirps and chickadees adding few extra “dees” to their normal “chick a dee dee dee”) so I’m hopeful that the eagle is still in the area.

I go to the upper flat to look some more and see a yellow shafted flicker fly overhead. The sandhills and the geese are noisy so I head that direction hoping that they’re making noise because an eagle is in their area, but no such luck.

IMG_9395_crop

Here is the Pileated Woodpecker working on a sassafras tree in the pine grove area of camp.

Pileated Woodpecker Hole in Pine Grove – Jan 2007Originally uploaded by Camp Naturalist.

Then I see a pileated woodpecker working a way at a sassafras tree near our tennis court. This time I have the camp camera and snap a few shots.

0 Responses to “Good birding day – Jan 24, 2007”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

