18
Apr
06

Mourning Dove Nesting in Redbud Tree – April 17 2006


S3600374

Originally uploaded by Camp Naturalist.

Nesting Mourning Dove

Here in camp’s circle driveway sits this mourning dove keeping her eggs warm. It’s a good opportunity to get a close look at this beautiful bird.

Digiscoping

I took this picture using digiscoping. Digiscoping is a process of putting a digital camera up to binoculars or a spotting scope to get a closer image. If you haven’t try this method, I encourage you to give it a shot.

2 Responses to “Mourning Dove Nesting in Redbud Tree – April 17 2006”


  1. 1 Gladys Jordan
    March 29, 2007 at 4:03 pm

    I have a pair of mourning doves aound my house in NJ.
    I wish there were some way they could be protected. Any
    sugestions?

  2. April 5, 2007 at 12:06 pm

    I’m not really sure about morning dove protection, but I do know that here in Michigan we just passed a regulation to ban the hunting of Morning Doves. But I don’t know really know the how that process got started? But this website might be helpful
    http://www.stopshootingdoves.org/

    Also, if you haven’t read the book “Pigeon”, it’s a great book on history of mourning dove’s close relatives. I also heard the author on the radio and he was very interesting.


Leave a Reply

