12
Jul
08

Moth with a cross or rocket on wings – July 12 2008

This Clymene moth was found by the boys bathhouse. I don’t know what kind it is.

41 Responses to “Moth with a cross or rocket on wings – July 12 2008”


  1. 1 Kimberly Morgan
    July 15, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    I just saw this moth tonight at a restaurant. I took a picture of it with my camera phone…what kind of moth is this? I’ve never seen this moth here in Ohio???? I can’t believe someone else captured a pic of this…

    • 2 Dave
      July 24, 2012 at 8:29 pm

      and I have one in my hands right now! It’s been hanging out on my patio door for 3 days -Westchester County, NY

  2. 3 Donna
    August 2, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    I saw this same moth in Alabama (Chilton County) and i also took a picture of it and was wondering what king of moth this is.

    • 4 callie elizabeth price
      July 17, 2011 at 1:11 pm

      I saw this moth at the church camp I went to, it was in the boys cabin, it had flew around the cabin and then landed on the preachers bed that was leaving to go home that night, it stayed there the whole time he got his sheets off the bed and everything. He looked it up when he got home and it says that when you see one of these moths it means that your prayers have been answered and the place that you are at is protected by angels.

  3. 5 Sue
    June 27, 2009 at 8:07 pm

    I have just found one of these in my front yard. I have it in a jar. What kind of moth is it? It kind of freaked me out. My neighbor said God is coming to my house first. Not being very religious this kind of scares me. Some one please tell me what this is. Thank you.

  4. 6 Sue
    June 27, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    PS. I live in Kentucky.

  5. 7 Jan
    July 24, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    I also took a picture of this moth, I live in MD it was on the wall outside last night did anyone find out what it was? What kind of moth?

  6. 8 kenfolk (ATL)
    August 26, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    I took a picture of it in Atlanta yesterday(8/25/09) it’s called the Cross Moth. one of My co-workers is calling it the Jusus Butterfly.

  7. 9 Maryellen
    February 13, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    I live in Connecticut and took a picture of one about two or three years ago and have never seen another

  8. 10 oklahoma
    June 6, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    I found this at the steps of my apt. and thought it was a peice to a rosary and found i was wrong. this moth is the second most beautiful moth i have seen in my life.

  9. 11 Fred
    July 6, 2010 at 9:36 am

    Hi,

    My name is Fred and I have a moth with a cross on it’s back. I saked my brother to look it up for me because I didn’t know what kind of moth it was, well he read some strange things about this moth but I still kept the moth because I think it’s differant.

  10. 12 Fred
    July 6, 2010 at 9:37 am

    Hi,

    My name is Fred and I have a moth with a cross on it’s back. I asked my brother to look it up for me because I didn’t know what kind of moth it was, well he read some strange things about this moth but I still kept the moth because I think it’s differant.

  11. 13 Meghan
    July 6, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    This moth is the CLymene moth, scientific name: Haploa clymene.

  12. 14 Laura
    July 20, 2010 at 11:25 am

    My husband found one of these moths near our barn (in Pennsylvania) the other day and took a picture of it, then my daughter found ANOTHER one the very next day. We have a butterfly hatchery from her school so we put the moth in that with some willow leaves and some nectar and she has already laid THREE PATCHES of eggs! We are so excited! But do we need a male to fertilize them? We truly do not know? Can someone help?

  13. 15 Joe
    July 23, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    Just took a picture of this moth in Higganum CT .. Never seen one like it before!

  14. 16 akines
    July 26, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    we first found one in our house about a month ago and wondered about it. we just found another outside on a hydrangea bush beside our porch. NE Alabama

  15. 17 Michael Fulmer
    August 6, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    My father past away at home this Sunday. After everyone left my house, I found this moth INSIDE my house on a window next to my fathers bed. I can only hope it means he is in heaven.

  16. 18 Adela
    September 28, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    The day we were moving to our new house, one of this Clymene Moth was at our front door. I found it very special and as a good sign for the years to come!!

  17. March 6, 2011 at 11:33 pm

    I, too, captured a picture of this Moth in Atlanta, GA some time in the summer of 2010. It is amazing just how wide spread they are.

  18. 20 Darla
    July 1, 2011 at 11:45 am

    I TOOK A PIC OF THIS MOTH TODAY IN MY GARAGE…ITS BEAUTIFUL.

  19. 21 CeeCee
    July 20, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    I found this moth just outside my door this morning and also took a picture with my cellphone. It made me stop right in my tracks when I saw it. It is beautiful. Atlanta GA

  20. 22 Greg Byram
    July 28, 2011 at 2:37 pm

    My name is Greg from Simms,Tx and I have seen TWO of these moths.Most recent was July 27 2011. I think they are so amazing!!!!!!!!!.

  21. 23 Leslie
    August 8, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    I found one in my kitchen. I took a picture of it. It is beautiful and after reading some of the other posts it made me fell really good. We live in Pellcity AL 30 miles outside of Birmingham.

  22. 24 Donna
    August 23, 2011 at 11:29 pm

    Found same beautiful moth outside front door of new lakehouse. Absolutely beautiful. Looks like a cross or sword. Snow Lake Shores, MS (near Holly Springs, MS). I hope to see more!

  23. 25 marcella carpenter
    August 31, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    i live in mckee ky and have found 2 or 3 of these at my home in the last couple yrs. they almost send shivers down my spine when i see one. rhey have a perfect cross. i always feel like they are a sign from God. i love them.

  24. October 12, 2011 at 8:51 am

    Found a moth with a cross on it wings near Shelby Forrest Park of Millington Tennessee, Octber 10,2011.. I love it!

    Jeanette

  25. 27 libbe miller
    June 15, 2012 at 10:29 pm

    ….my grandson has just found one of the clymene moths/butterflies .. June 15, 2012 …10:30 PM … Friday night. We captured photos of the beautiful creature .. with the camera … and, as of this time, the moth/butterfly remains on my patio … and we are enjoying all the gentle and comforting “messages” we are experiencing at this time. We live in North Georgia .. about an hour north of Atlanta :)

  26. 28 Tonda
    July 5, 2012 at 11:31 am

    I saw this moth in South Carolina. I live in a small town outside of Columbia SC. My family and I had never seen anything like this but we are truly amazed.
    This is absolutely beautiful!

  27. 29 Terry
    July 7, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    I found one of these amazing moths and had to take a picture. it’s beautiful!!!! It makes you feel realy good inside.

  28. 30 Becky
    July 8, 2012 at 1:09 pm

    I found one last night on our back porch. I, too, stopped dead in my tracks. I only took it as a sign that God is always with us! Columbus, Ga

  29. 31 Laurie Z
    July 18, 2012 at 10:17 am

    There is one of these by my front door today. It stopped me dead in my tracks and i had to take a picture and find out what it is! I live in Birmingham, AL. Thanks for all the info here!

  30. 32 Cheryl
    July 23, 2012 at 11:07 pm

    About a month ago my mother was diagnosed with cancer…my brother call her one morning after we got the news and told her she was going to be find. He told her that when he arrived at his office at work there was a candle fly with a cross on his back and he knew this was a message from God and that she was going to be o.k….Well this morning my mother was schedule to have her port placed in her chest for her treatments and when she woke up and went into her kitchen there was the candle fly with the cross on his back. Now my brother lives in Alabama and we are in Georgia…when I realized God’s presence and his confirmation I wanted to learn more about this moth….or as we use to call them growing up “Candle Fly”….A month later God’s sends her the same message that my brother received a month before the prayers of the righteous availeth much. To God Be The Glory! I still wish I knew the correct name for this moth and some history on the moth.

  31. 33 Amy Johnson
    July 29, 2012 at 2:21 am

    On July 19, 2012, this moth with a perfect cross on its wings landed on the side of my shirt. I didn’t know it was there until my son told me. I was in amazement when I saw that it had a cross on its back. I immediately felt that God sent affirmation that a prayer was going to be answered, and low and behold, my niece that was born at 24 weeks gestational age, 1.4 lbs. came home after being in the hospital for 3 1/2 months. I knew immediately that our Rylee would be home. Now God is still in the miracle business my friends!!!!

  32. 34 Sharon
    February 25, 2013 at 11:41 pm

    Several yrs ago my husband & I was coming from vacation & upon entering the house I spotted this very odd never seen by either one of us butterfly/moth with a perfect cross on its back. I felt like G_d was sending us a message or was going to answer a prayer.I took a picture of it with my cell phone & keep it as a screen saver.It sat there for hours. We just watched in amazement.Always wanted to know what kind of moth this was & had anyone else ever seen one. Tonite I was curious to find if it had some type of spiritual meaning. To G_d be the glory!

  33. July 10, 2013 at 1:25 am

    wonderful points altogether, you just gained a emblem new reader.
    What may you recommend in regards to your put up that you simply
    made some days in the past? Any positive?

  34. July 12, 2013 at 2:07 am

    You’re so awesome! I don’t believe I’ve read something like this before. So nice to find someone with original thoughts on this topic. Really.. thank you for starting this up. This site is one thing that’s needed on the web, someone with a little originality!

  35. 37 Lou Sall
    July 18, 2013 at 8:07 pm

    My wife and I came from the store tonight and saw this moth on the front porch and stopped me right in my tracks. I took a few pictures of it and it let me get real close to it. It’s beautiful and it reaffirms that God sent Jesus to us and it shows the cross He suffered on for our sake.

  36. 38 Donna
    August 1, 2013 at 10:21 am

    Today is August 1, 2013. Upon returning home at the top of the steps I looked down to find a really strange butterfly/moth with a cross on its back. At first I didn’t think much of it but Ihave never seen anything like it.
    So I came in and immediately researched it and found that there are others who have seen it. I live in Massachusetts close to the New Hampshire border. I feel like it is a beautiful message from God also. I took a photo with my cell phone and will keep it always.

  37. 39 Nancy
    August 2, 2013 at 4:52 pm

    I found mine on my front door this morning. I live in Ohio. We seen several at our trailer we lived in back our lane. We moved down to another trailer farther down the lane and evidently he must have missed us and came down to visit us at our new place. I love the cross on the back and think that I have guardian angels watching over my husband and me.

  38. 40 diane gulish
    August 7, 2013 at 3:25 pm

    I saw this moth for the first time last week in my back yard and went to get my husband. He said it not only looks like a cross ( when it’s wings are together) but it looks like a body on the cross. It’s amazing when you have never seen anything like it before and then it lands before you and it’s wings come together and there it is. THE CROSS w/ JESUS on it. What a sweet reminder! God is so good. I only wish I had taken a picture. The moth was very white and the cross was black. Beautiful!

  39. 41 Amy Johnson
    September 18, 2013 at 11:16 am

    This is the second time I have seen this beautiful moth over a year apart from each other. I have done research on this moth since the first time I saw this moth on July 19,2012, and found that indeed it does have spiritual significance and meaning. On August 7, 2013, I was driving home from work, and I was praying for God to show me a sign if it was His will for me to do this calling He had been dealing with me on my life. When I got home, my brother in law, brings out this magnificent cross moth in his hands. I was in complete amazement once again, and I knew right then God was indeed sending me a sign and had answered my prayers. Since then, God has been doing astonishing work in my life and using me as His vessel. Many prayers have been answered that I have prayed to God…ones that needed a healing. I give my GOD all the PRAISE, HONOR, and GLORY!!! I will NEVER forget this wonderful and beautiful creation that God has made for us to see and marvel at its sight!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

